Day 13 — A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough days

Dear NIN,

I will never forget listening to your music for the first time when I was 14. It shifted my entire reality. I was always a fan of music, especially music with such raw emotion behind it that I can relate to or understand. I grew up with your voice and words resonating through my soul, in good times and in bad. “Something I Can Never Have” has always touched me the deepest, even now, 20 years later, I stop and listen to each word of that song and feel it deep inside. It says to me, there is always a hunger within us, we are always searching for something but never quite sure what it is we seek. Pretty Hate Machine is a beautiful album, every song powerful and full of meaning. And every album after has been more amazing than the last.

Your soft, yet hard voice makes each word and song even more powerful and the talent behind being able to write and produce all your music on your own has always astounded me. The hard, cutting industrial sound mixed with your lyrics sung by your beautiful voice makes for an amazing combination that I can’t believe anyone could ever ignore.

Thank you for exposing the rawest part of you to the world, giving us such a gift that’s obviously pieces of  your soul and letting us experience it for ourselves, to be able to relate and know that there is someone out there who understands us. The “those” of us are not alone, as hard as it might be for us to see at times.

Leave a Reply

