Firsts

I was 17 before I had my first boyfriend. He was a year younger than me. Funny, cute, goofy, very opinionated, liberal and Wiccan. Coming from a private religious school, he felt almost naughty to me. I liked him, a lot. We spent as much time together as we could seeing as he lived on the other side of town from me. I drove out to see him when I could or was allowed.

No surprise…it wasn’t long before we were sleeping together. For a teenager, he was pretty decent in bed. We had a lot of fun together. At one point, we had a condom break and that was the only birth control we were using. He stayed up all night doing Wiccan spells in hopes I didn’t come up pregnant. Whether it worked or not….I wasn’t pregnant.

I was in the middle of exploring my sexuality, already knowing I liked girls as well and he was too, in a sense. Although my exploration was a little more deliberate. On the phone one night, well into the middle of the night, he confessed to messing around with one of his friends and was afraid I would be upset. I was not but I appreciated him telling me about it and told him as much. I actually thought it was cute and sexy and wanted details. Whether or not we actually ever gave each other explicit permission, I don’t know, but it went without saying that we were both ok with the other exploring that side of ourselves. Even my very first teenage relationship was open…go figure.

Him and I have fallen in and out of contact thru the years. He is definitely bisexual, although at one point, he thought he was totally gay. He has had both boyfriends and girlfriends and even a poly relationship since him and I…Last I heard he was married and just had twin girls. I told him all about our poly quad (when it was still happening) and he was interested in how it was working out. But then we lost contact again. I will always have a soft spot for him, he was a good boyfriend. Sweet, loving, honest, caring…and bi. I have no doubts that because he was my first love and right in the middle of my self-discovery that I have grown a fondness for bi men. It isn’t just that I find it a turn-on (although I definitely do!) but I find men like that are more open and explorative and less judgmental. And sexy 😉

Leave a Reply

