Say Whaaaaaatt???

This was how our day started. It is take-your-child-to-work-day so even though the kids are with the exes this week, we worked it out that the two older girls would go to work with Papa since they wouldn’t be allowed on an ambulance anyway. I was in my bathroom finishing up getting dressed when a disheveled and barely awake Mom comes in and says Stripe’s mom is on the phone and I have to come listen to this.  It’s important. He’s out of work. Supposedly he quit because he wasn’t making enough money. Makes a lot of sense, doesn’t it? Not enough is better than nothing! 

I’ve been there with Red before. He can’t seem to hold down a job for more than a few years. I’ve always been his back-up. And my parents. My parents have handed us more money and paid more bills than I would like to ever admit. I still owe Jets, Red and I both do, for rent. Papa is paying my debt off. Stripe’s mom is afraid Red is suicidal. I’m doubting that.  I think it’s more likely he will take off and leave Stripe and Spawn with her mom, which leaves all the kids with us because her mom is four hours north of us. 

Their rent is nine days past due. It’s just a matter of time before they get evicted and if he doesn’t take off, their only option is to move in with her mom. My head is still spinning, trying to process all the information. I’m trying not to feel bad because I left him with Stripe and now her and her family are suffering because of Red. She made her bed and is definitely lying in it. She thought he was so awesome and he promised her the world. Now I wonder what she thinks. 

How do you even begin to wrap your head around the fact that your ex-husband had been out of work since November and you knew nothing about it.  There’s so much up in the air right now. I saw Red in person earlier, he has no idea we know what’s going on…he was in a cheerful mood, friendly and talkative. It was actually a little creepy to see him act that Stepford-ish…

3 thoughts on “Say Whaaaaaatt???

    1. Yes….since November and Red had been putting on this huge front that he’s still working. Can’t trust anything either of them say anymore. Not a word..

      Like

Leave a Reply

